Premier Partner

Georgia Film Critics Association Announces Nominations for 2017 Year in Film


The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) has announced their slate of nominees for the 2017 GAFCA Awards. Founded in 2011, this year marks the 7th annual awards program for the critics group. GAFCA is made up of 26 film critics from around the state, representing print, television, radio and online media.

Nominations in 17 categories have been released. Winners for each of these categories will be announced on Friday, January 12, 2018. Additionally, the winner of the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema—a special prize for a film made in Georgia—is to be announced.

For more information on the Georgia Film Critics Association, visit


Best Picture

  • “Baby Driver”
  • “The Big Sick”
  • “Call Me By Your Name”
  • “The Disaster Artist”
  • “Dunkirk”
  • “The Florida Project”
  • “Get Out”
  • “A Ghost Story”
  • “Lady Bird”
  • “The Shape of Water”
  • “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” 

Best Director

  • “Baby Driver” – Edgar Wright
  • “Dunkirk” – Christopher Nolan
  • “Get Out” – Jordan Peele
  • “Lady Bird” – Greta Gerwig
  • “The Shape of Water” – Guillermo del Toro

Best Actor

  • Timothée Chalamet (“Call Me By Your Name”)
  • James Franco (“The Disaster Artist”)
  • Daniel Kaluuya (“Get Out”)
  • Gary Oldman (“Darkest Hour”)
  • Andy Serkis (“War for the Planet of the Apes”) 

Best Actress

  • Jessica Chastain (“Molly’s Game”)
  • Sally Hawkins (“The Shape of Water”)
  • Frances McDormand (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)
  • Margot Robbie (“I, Tonya”)
  • Saoirse Ronan (“Lady Bird”)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Willem Dafoe (“The Florida Project”)
  • Woody Harrelson (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)
  • Richard Jenkins (“The Shape of Water”)
  • Sam Rockwell (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)
  • Michael Stuhlbarg (“Call Me By Your Name”) 

Best Supporting Actress

  • Tiffany Haddish (“Girls Trip”)
  • Holly Hunter (“The Big Sick”)
  • Allison Janney (“I, Tonya”)
  • Tatiana Maslany (“Stronger”)
  • Laurie Metcalf (“Lady Bird”)
  • Bria Vinaite (“The Florida Project”)

Best Original Screenplay

  • “The Big Sick” – Kumail Nanjiani & Emily V. Gordon
  • “Get Out” – Jordan Peele
  • “Lady Bird” – Greta Gerwig
  • “The Shape of Water” – Guillermo del Toro
  • “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” – Martin McDonagh

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • “Call Me By Your Name” – James Ivory
  • “The Disaster Artist” -Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
  • “Logan” – Scott Frank & James Mangold
  • “Molly’s Game” – Aaron Sorkin
  • “Mudbound” – Virgil Williams & Dee Rees

Best Cinematography

  • “Blade Runner 2049” – Roger Deakins
  • “Dunkirk” – Hoyte van Hoytema
  • “The Florida Project” – Alexis Zabe
  • “Mudbound” – Rachel Morrison
  • “The Shape of Water” – Dan Laustsen

Best Production Design

  • “Blade Runner 2049” – Dennis Gassner & Alessandra Querzola
  • “Dunkirk” – Nathan Crowley & Gary Fettis
  • “The Post” – Rick Carter, Kim Jennings & Deborah Jensen
  • “The Shape of Water” – Paul D. Austerberry, Shane Vieau & Jeff Melvin
  • “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” – Rick Heinrichs

Best Original Score

  • “Blade Runner 2049” – Hans Zimmer & Benjamin Wallfisch
  • “Darkest Hour” – Dario Marianelli
  • “Dunkirk” – Hans Zimmer
  • “Phantom Thread” – Jonny Greenwood
  • “The Post” – John Williams
  • “The Shape of Water” – Alexandre Desplat
  • “War for the Planet of the Apes” – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song

  • “I Get Overwhelmed” – Daniel Hart (“A Ghost Story”)
  • “Mighty River” – Mary J. Blige, Raphael Saadiq & Taura Stinson (“Mudbound”)
  • “Mystery of Love” – Sufjan Stevens (“Call Me By Your Name”)
  • “Remember Me” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez (“Coco”)
  • “This is Me” – Pasek and Paul (“The Greatest Showman”) 

Best Ensemble

  • “Get Out”
  • “Lady Bird”
  • “Mudbound”
  • “The Post”
  • “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

 Best Foreign Film

  • “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”
  • “A Fantastic Woman”
  • “In the Fade”
  • “The Square”
  • “Thelma”

Breakthrough Award

  • Timothée Chalamet (“Call Me By Your Name,” “Hostiles,” “Hot Summer Nights,” “Lady Bird”)
  • Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”)
  • Tiffany Haddish (“Girls Trip”)
  • Daniel Kaluuya (“Get Out”)
  • Jordan Peele (“Get Out”)
  • Brooklynn Prince (“The Florida Project”)


Best Animated Film

  • “The Breadwinner”
  • “Coco”
  • “The LEGO Batman Movie”
  • “Loving Vincent”
  • “My Entire High School Sinking Into the Sea”

Best Documentary Film

  • “Dawson City: Frozen Time”
  • “Jane”
  • “Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond – Featuring a Very Special, Contractually Obligated Mention of Tony Clifton”
  • “Kedi”
  • “LA 92” 

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

To be announced.



Leave A Reply