Premier Partner

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Announces Winners of The 44th Annual Southeast Emmy Awards


The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Southeast Chapter, announced the winners of the 44th Annual Southeast Emmy Awards at a special ceremony at the Grand Hyatt Buckhead in Atlanta on Saturday.

Winners were announced in 86 categories including News Anchor, Reporter, Outstanding Documentary and Interactivity, among others. The awards recognize outstanding achievement by individuals and programs broadcast throughout the 2017 calendar year.

“Now is the time for us to work harder at being great journalists.  The fact that you’re in this ballroom tonight, among our industry’s most acclaimed creators, proves you’re already fighting the good fight,” said NATAS SE President Jeremy Campbell.

Atlanta NBC affiliate WXIA-TV was the most honored outlet with 29 Emmy Awards, including Overall Excellence and News Excellence.  WSB-TV’s Channel 2 Action News at 5 received the Emmy Awards for Outstanding Newscast.  WSB-TV and WGCL-TV tied for Outstanding Morning Newscast Emmy Award.

Individual honors included WGCL’s Adam Harding (General Assignment Reporter, News Reporter-Live), WXIA’s Cheryl Preheim (News Anchor) and WXIA’s Erin Peterson (News Producer).  WRBC’s Rick Karle received the Emmy Award for Sports Anchor and WTVA’s Matt Laubhan was honored as Weather Anchor.

In addition, the Governors’ Award was bestowed upon Wilbur Fitzgerald, Shay Bentley-Griffin, Melissa Goodman and Ric Reitz.  This group was instrumental in securing the 2008 Entertainment Tax Incentive that propelled Georgia to a leading position for network television production.  Because of their vision, Hollywood has come to Georgia and brought with it thousands of jobs and billions of dollars in economic impact.

For the first time in a decade, the prestigious NATAS Southeast President’s Award was presented at this year’s gala.  To commemorate the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) on its forthcoming 40th Anniversary, the President’s Award was presented to SCAD President and Founder Paula Wallace in honor of her vision in preparing a new generation of television professionals.

CNN Anchor Fredricka Whitfield emceed the gala.  Other presenters included Pinewood Studios Atlanta President Frank Patterson, “Stranger Things” actress Bethany DeZelle, from “Spotlight” and “The Post”, Michael Cyril Creighton and many highly acclaimed journalists working across the Southeast.

With more than 1200 entries from a five-state region, the 2018 ceremony marks the most entered EMMY® Awards season in the organization’s history.  Entrants from TV stations and digital media organizations across Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina and Asheville, North Carolina were eligible to submit their work for EMMY consideration.

A detailed listing of all awards verifed by the independent accountancy firm of Salus Consulting is posted at

This extraordinary gala is made possible by SCAD, Premier Partner of the 44th Annual Southeast EMMY Awards.  Special thanks to our Official Sponsors, including Chick-fil-A, Home Depot, Pinewood Atlanta Studios, TBS and TNT.


Leave A Reply