Premier Partner

Georgia Film Critics Association Announces Nominations for 2019 Year in Film


The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) has announced their slate of nominees for the 2019 GAFCA Awards. Founded in 2011, this year marks the 9th annual awards program for the critics group. GAFCA is made up of 38 film critics from around the state, representing print, television, radio and online media.

Nominations in all 17 categories have been released, as well as the shortlist for the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema—a special prize for a film made in Georgia. Winners will be announced on Friday, January 10, 2020.

“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” earns 9 nominations, the most of any title. “Parasite” is next with 8; followed by “Little Women” with 7 mentions (not including Florence Pugh’s Breakthrough Award nomination); then “1917,” “The Farewell” and “Marriage Story” each with 5; “Uncut Gems” received 4 nominations.

Georgia-filmed titles “Ford v Ferrari” and “Richard Jewell” each earned two nominations, including both being listed in consideration for the Oglethorpe Award.

For more information on the Georgia Film Critics Association, visit


Best Picture

  • “1917”
  • “The Farewell”
  • “Ford v Ferrari”
  • “A Hidden Life”
  • “The Irishman”
  • “Little Women”
  • “Marriage Story”
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”
  • “Parasite”
  • “Uncut Gems”

Best Director

  • “1917” – Sam Mendes
  • “The Irishman” – Martin Scorsese
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Quentin Tarantino
  • “Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho
  • “Uncut Gems” – Ben Safdie, Josh Safdie

Best Actor

  • Antonio Banderas (“Pain and Glory”)
  • Leonardo DiCaprio (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)
  • Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”)
  • Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”)
  • Adam Sandler (“Uncut Gems”)

Best Actress

  • Awkwafina (“The Farewell”)
  • Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”)
  • Lupita Nyong’o (“Us”)
  • Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”)
  • Renée Zellweger (“Judy”)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Willem Dafoe (“The Lighthouse”)
  • Tom Hanks (“A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”)
  • Al Pacino (“The Irishman”)
  • Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”)
  • Brad Pitt (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Kathy Bates (“Richard Jewell”)
  • Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”)
  • Jennifer Lopez (“Hustlers”)
  • Florence Pugh (“Little Women”)
  • Margot Robbie (“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”)
  • Shuzhen Zhou (“The Farewell”)

Best Original Screenplay

  • “The Farewell” – Lulu Wang
  • “Knives Out” – Rian Johnson
  • “Marriage Story” – Noah Baumbach
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Quentin Tarantino
  • “Parasite” – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • “Hustlers” – Lorene Scafaria
  • “The Irishman” – Steven Zaillian
  • “Jojo Rabbit” – Taika Waititi
  • “Joker” – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
  • “Little Women” – Greta Gerwig

Best Cinematography

  • “1917” – Roger Deakins
  • “Ad Astra” – Hoyte van Hoytema
  • “A Hidden Life” – Jörg Widmer
  • “The Lighthouse” – Jarin Blaschke
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Robert Richardson
  • “Portrait of a Lady on Fire” – Claire Mathon

Best Production Design

  • “1917”  Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
  • “The Lighthouse” – Craig Lathrop, Matt Likely
  • “Little Women”  Jess Gonchor, Chris Farmer
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh
  • “Parasite” – Lee Ha-joon

Best Original Score

  • “1917” – Thomas Newman
  • “Joker” – Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • “Little Women” – Alexandre Desplat
  • “Parasite” – Jung Jae-il
  • “Uncut Gems” – Daniel Lopatin
  • “Us” – Michael Abels

Best Original Song

  • “Glasgow (No Place Like Home)” – Caitlin Smith, Mary Steenburgen, Kate York (“Wild Rose”)
  • “A Glass of Soju” – Jung Jae-il, Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)
  • “(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again” – Elton John, Bernie Taupin (“Rocketman”)
  • “Into the Unknown” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez  (“Frozen II”)
  • “Stand Up” – Joshuah Brian Campbell, Cynthia Erivo (“Harriet”)

Best Ensemble

  • “The Irishman”
  • “Knives Out”
  • “Little Women”
  • “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood”
  • “Parasite”

Best Foreign Language Film

  • “The Farewell”
  • “Long Day’s Journey Into Night”
  • “Pain and Glory”
  • “Parasite”
  • “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”

Breakthrough Award

  • Ana de Armas (“The Informer,” “Knives Out,” “Wasp Network”)
  • Awkwafina (“The Farewell,” “Jumanji: The Next Level,” “Paradise Hills”)
  • Julia Fox (“Uncut Gems”)
  • Kelvin Harrison Jr. (“Bolden,” “Gully,” “Luce,” “Waves,” “The Wolf Hour”)
  • George MacKay (“1917,” “A Guide to Second Date Sex,” “Nuclear,” “True History of the Kelly Gang”)
  • Florence Pugh (“Fighting With My Family,” “Little Women,” “Midsommar”)
  • Taylor Russell (“Escape Room,” “Waves”)

Best Animated Film

  • “Frozen II”
  • “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World”
  • “I Lost My Body”
  • “Missing Link”
  • “Toy Story 4”

Best Documentary Film

  • “American Factory”
  • “Apollo 11”
  • “The Biggest Little Farm”
  • “Honeyland”
  • “Love, Antosha”
  • “Midnight Family”

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

  • “Avengers: Endgame” (Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely)
  • “Doctor Sleep” (Mike Flanagan)
  • “Ford v Ferrari” (James Mangold, Jez Butterworth, John-Henry Butterworth, Jason Keller)
  • “Greener Grass” (Jocelyn DeBoer, Dawn Luebbe)
  • “Gryphon Animo” (short; Matthew Maloney)
  • “Jumanji: The Next Level” (Jake Kasdan, Jeff Pinkner, Scott Rosenberg)
  • “Just Mercy” (Destin Daniel Cretton, Andrew Lanham)
  • “The Peanut Butter Falcon” (Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz)
  • “Reckoning” (Lane Skye, Ruckus Skye)
  • “Richard Jewell” (Clint Eastwood, Billy Ray)
  • “Summer Night” (Joseph Cross, Jordan Jolliff)

Winners to be announced January 10, 2020.


Leave A Reply